Living in Harmony with Yourself: The Triple Trinity of Body,

You are one entity with three aspects. Each has its
needs. Each part of you has to honour, respect,
and work in harmony with the other parts in order
for all to reach their needs. Each part has basic
needs, intermediate needs, and ultimate needs.

Body's Needs
food, water, clothing, shelter

Second level
to be healthy,
to feel well,
to feel good,
to feel pampered,
to be touched

Ultimate goal
to be immortal

Mind's Needs
control, safety, security

Second Level
to be loved,
to be connected,
to feel part of

Ultimate Goal

Spirit's Needs
to be known,
accepted as existing

Second Level
to heal,
to become whole,
to be at peace,
to know itself,
to find wisdom

Ultimate Goal
heaven, nirvana,
ending the cycle,
coming home

We talk about living in peace and harmony with
others, but very little is said about living in
harmony with ourselves.

Most people emphasize one aspect over the others,
usually mind. We talk of people so caught up in
the material world, in making money, acquiring
things, paying off the mortgage, that they have
lost their soul.

Some are primarily concerned about their body,
either making it look good or making it healthy. Of
them we say they are trying to live forever or be
young forever.

Some are spiritually oriented to the point where
they denigrate their body, become ascetics, learn
to overcome physical discomfort, and even self-
flagellate. Or more commonly denigrate mind,
attributing to it negatives such as selfish, fearful,
shameful, controlling, guilt-ridden. They may
attack body and mind as distractions, illusions.
This is not harmony.

Harmony is each aspect recognizing, respecting,
and taking care of the others; honouring body,
mind, and spirit. Harmony is body, mind, and
spirit living and working together in intra-

Your body is not just a vessel for your mind and
spirit. That